FLL 2020

FIRST LEGO League Alaska

IDEA’s FIRST LEGO League teams did exceptionally well all across Alaska this year! Not only have all of our FLL team members remained dedicated with weekly club meetups, team practices, and attending preliminary events–but IDEA Team “Storm Tech” earned the 1st Place Statewide Champion trophy at the FLL Open Championship held in Fairbanks on February 15, 2020.  In addition, they also won the Robot Game competition. Among this win, several of our other teams have earned multiple awards across the state at various competitive events throughout Alaska.

  • Philosophers received 2nd Champions in Anchorage
  • Fungi’s received Judges  “Judges Choice” in Anchorage
  • Moose on the Loose received “Core Values” in Fairbanks

We are so proud of everyone’s amazing effort! Congratulations to all of our hard-working LEGO robotics teams! And, a BIG thank you to all of our coaches, parents, mentors, and volunteers of our LEGO community.

Storm Tech Team Roster:

Josiah Pipkin
Hannah Lewellyn
Colman Mullins
TJ Waggener
Levi Beck
Caleb Parsons
Veylen Threadgall

Alaska AcaDeca 2020

Our IDEA Teams did exceptionally well at this year’s Alaska Academic Decathlon 2020 statewide competition.

Congratulations to all of our hard-working students! We’d also like to pass along a huge thank you for the collaborative efforts from all of the dedicated parents, coaches, Alaska AcaDeca staff, and volunteers–without whom of which, this shared success would not be possible. Go Team IDEA!!!

IDEA Team 1

2nd Place Overall in Division 1 Schools

IDEA Team 2

4th Place Overall in Division 1 Schools

Individual IDEA Student Awards

We are beyond proud of each and every one of our students! We would like to recognize them all for this amazing achievement and their outstanding teamwork. Among our 19 IDEA Alaska AcaDeca 2020 team members, there were also 23 individual medals awarded as follows:

Name Individual Medals/Awards
Aveline Larroque Gold, Art
Silver, Interview
Bronze, Econ
Bronze, Music
Bronze, Soc Sci
$2,000 Scholarship
Top Score, Team 1
 Miriam Mockett Bronze, Art
James Vaughn
Elijah Rohler Gold, Math
Silver, Econ
Silver, Music
Silver, Essay
Bronze, Science
$1,000 Scholarship
Dominic O’Neil Bronze, Econ
Khloe Quebman
Kathryn Robinson Gold, Essay
Silver, Math
Bronze, Sci
Bronze, SocSci
$1,000 Scholarship
Kaitlin Bartholomew Silver, Lit
Bronze, Math
Isaac Bergey Silver, Econ
Michael Clay (alt) Alternate position – only awards Gold medals
Dominic Alioto Top Score, Team 2
Kylie Ancheta Silver, Speech
Michael Byerly
Austin Griswold
Mary Cohen
Isabella Morgan Bronze, Speech
Alix Gingrich Bronze, Math
Matthew Williams
Olivia Bengtson (alt) Gold, Speech